"Could not Open Install.Log File!" Problem Solved!!

Posted on February 3, 2009. Filed under: Main, Software, Tech support, Tech Tips | Tags: , , , , , |

I recently installed some backup software for testing and decided to remove the ones I wasn’t interested in anymore.  My hard drive has had some corruption issues, which means I’m losing programs, but don’t know it until I try to start them and something fails.  This, I think, is what happened with today’s problem.

When I tried to run the uninstaller from the Add/Remove Programs feature in Windows XP, I was greeted with a message box telling me “Could not open INSTALL.LOG file.”  I opened the folder where the program was installed (%programfiles%\<program name>) and found the INSTALL.LOG file intact.  I was able to open it and read all the contents, which looked OK.  I tried to launch the uninstaller directly, but was greeted with the same error.  A little bit of Googling solved my problem (link below).

"Could not Open Install.Log File!" Problem Solved!! [Archive] – Digit Online Technology Discussion Forum

Turns out that this particular problem is often seen with Wise uninstallers and is easily remedied.  Just cut and paste the INSTALL.LOG file to another folder (desktop is easy) and run the uninstaller from within the installation folder (NOT Add/Remove Programs).  You’ll be prompted for the install file, so just browse to where you moved it, select and hit OK.  From there, the program should uninstall like normal.  Why?  No idea, but it works like a charm.  I’m sure there are others out there who could detail why this works.  If so, please leave your words of wisdom in the comments section.  Thanks!


del.icio.us: , , , , ,

Share this post : del.icio.us it! digg it! dotnetkicks it! live it! reddit! technorati! yahoo!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “"Could not Open Install.Log File!" Problem Solved!!”

RSS Feed for Estes Technology Group Comments RSS Feed

THOUGHT I HAD FOUND THE ANSWER – BUT NO ! THIS FILE ONLY APPEARS IN ADD/REMOVE PROGRAMS AND WONT LET ME CUT AND PASTE IT ! IT DOES NOT APPEAR ON MY “ALL PROGRAMS ” LIST — ANY IDEAS ?


Where's The Comment Form?

  • February 2009
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Jun »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • delicious tags

  • Blog Stats

    • 10,514 visits

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

