The Move to Expression Web

Posted on April 23, 2007. Filed under: Main, Microsoft, Web Development |

Well, I’ve moved completely from FrontPage to Expression, and the world is a better place now!

Well, not really, but at least my sites all work right.

Last week, I finally weaned myself off of FPSE (FrontPage Server Extensions) by removing them from my development machine.  I realized that the only reason they were on there is because I could open a web site using http:// and edit it live, even though that’s usually not the best method.

Since Expression Web creates standards-based sites right from the get-go, and it makes learning/using CSS that much easier, it made sense for me to leave FrontPage behind (since I’ve already decided not to use DreamWeaver).  I was still hung up on having FPSE, but didn’t really have a good reason as to why.  After chatting with Cheryl Wise (link) and in the Expression newsgroups (link), and reviewing her Expression site (link), it just made sense to leave them behind, as well.

So I now create sites on my computer first, upload them to the server using FTP, and make any changes to the disk-based site, rather than on the live site.  It takes a few more minutes, but it helps to maintain the integrity of the live sites I maintain.

Now, if I only had some artistic talent…

 

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • April 2007
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   May »
    1234567
    891011121314
    15161718192021
    22232425262728
    2930  
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • delicious tags

  • Blog Stats

    • 10,504 visits

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

