Why Microsoft?

Posted on December 21, 2006. Filed under: Main, Microsoft, Software Development |

As I was looking up some things about Visual Studio 2005 on Microsoft’s new website recently, it got me to thinking about why I use their products, really.  Is it because they’re so much better, or easier to use, or more robust.  Nope.

There’s plenty of reasons why I use (and sometimes don’t use) Microsoft’s software, but I think the bottom line, for now, is the bottom line.  I joined Microsoft’s student programming site theSpoke.net a while ago and found that they were providing software to students at a reasonable cost of $25 for membership.  I registered, confirmed my student status, then proceeded to download full, legal copies of Visual Studio, VSTO, Windows Server 2003, Visual Source Safe, and SQL Servers.  I added up how much this would all cost me out of pocket, and as of yesterday it would be $12,8903.95, (*UPDATE: $12,585.93 on CDW.com) which is juuuust a bit out of range for a college student.  Sadly, this part of theSpoke doesn’t exist anymore, but you can still download and use VS2005 Express programs, which are essentially on the same level as VS.NET 2003 Standard.  All in all, a pretty good deal.  Add that to the Campus Agreement that puts Windows and Office on my laptop, and I’m all set.

Now I know there’s Linux, FreeBSD, and other open source OS’s, as well as a myriad of other great open source programs like OpenOffice, but they seem to cater to those more geeky than me, instead of the students who will need to be familiar with an OS and set of programs that the “real” world uses, before they graduate, and often even before they enter college.  Until businesses adopt these systems and programs, and as long as Microsoft makes their software affordable to students, it’s going to be a Microsoft world. 

And is that so bad?

Some would say yes.  The Free Software Foundation has gone so far as to create a website dedicated to telling the world of the evils of Vista (which site prompts me to download MSXML 5.0 from Microsoft), and the author of Toasty Technology is telling all who will listen that Microsoft is Evil.  Alas, that site wants me to load the plugin for Windows Media Player to use their site.  Hah!

Look, I’m not a champion for either cause.  I’ve managed networks based on Microsoft servers, as well as HP-UX boxes.  Maybe I’m simple, but I think I’ll stick to what I know, which is what’s provided most often, and most reliably, and simply.

Thanks, Bill.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

  • December 2006
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Feb »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Meta

  • Categories

  • delicious tags

  • Blog Stats

    • 10,546 visits

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

